news

Follow the Money: Webinar will look at MPO's plans for investment and job creation

Posted by: Gordon on 1/26/2015


TIPS images
Join us for a webinar:

3 p.m. pacific / 5 p.m. central / 6 p.m. eastern

Thursday, February 5

Register for the webinar now

Under federal law each Regional or Metropolitan Planning Organization (RPO or MPO) must develop a Transportation Improvement Program, or TIP.

The TIP provides the community with critical information about how federal, state, and local transportation and infrastructure dollars will be distributed. Because the TIP is an important indicator of job creation in the transportation and construction industries in our various communities, it is essential that organizers and leaders learn how to read these documents.

Ron Achelpohl, director of transportation for Mid-America Regional Council (MARC), the MPO in the Kansas City metropolitan region, will provide an overview of the required components of any TIP for organizers and advocates on Gamaliel's first webinar of 2015.

Ron, also a leader in the Gamaliel affiliate, MORE2, will walk us through specific TIP examples; challenge us to consider how we organize around the TIP to secure jobs for low-income people, people of color, and women. He will also describe the rules for public engagement in the TIP development process.

In addition, we will explore how updated minority and women’s hiring goals and updated apprenticeship regulations will impact the TIP.

For more information, contact Rev. Cynthia Jarrold, Federal Policy Coordinator, cjarrold@gamaliel.org.

To post a comment, you must be a registered user.

  |  Login

Tag Cloud